Carrot and Cilantro Soup

coriandre.jpg

Rachel recently sent me a recipe for carrot and coriander soup which reminded me of another recipe I had. I then decided to merge the two into one and make a few alterations of my own.

olive oil
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 garlic clove, crushed
550g carrots
1 chopped zucchini
2-3 cups vegetable stock
juice of one orange
a pinch of nutmeg
1 tbsp chopped cilantro
single cream
salt & pepper

Gently sauté onion and garlic in olive oil until soft, without colouring.  Add the roughly chopped carrots, zucchini, stock, orange juice and nutmeg.  Cover, bring to the boil and simmer gently until the carrots are tender.
Cool a little, then use a hand-held immersion blender to puree the soup into a smooth consistancy. Stir in the cilantro and cream.  Season to taste.  Serve, and garnish with a sprinkling of cilantro.

Option: a swirl of yoghurt can be put on on top

Another recipe for carrot soup can be found here.