Blog Musings

versaillescastle.jpg

– I recently read an article about blogs and bloggers. It seems that a peak has been reached and that bloggers now tend to post less often than they used to. This is certainly true for me although I am not quite sure why: lack of ideas, different priorities, a different schedule…

– The number of spams I get has rocketed. Fortunately they are blocked in the spam section of the blog but the number is still impressive. Am I the only one?

– WordPress has a wonderful feature which enables the readers of a blog to subscribe and get an email each time a new blogpost has been published. It is much more comfortable than checking RSS feeds. The unfortunate result is that I probably read non-Wordpress blogs less frequently.

– What about you? Do you find that your blogging activity has evolved?

P.S.: Upcoming change on this blog.

19 thoughts on “Blog Musings

  1. Interesting. I hadn’t really noticed it until you mentioned it, but a quick look at my stats reveals that on average, I posted slighter fewer posts per month during 2010 than I did during 2009.

    Hmm. I wonder why? No specific reason comes to mind…

  2. I blog when I have something I want to say and when I have time to say it. To tell you the truth, I hope someday my grandchildren will read some of these blog posts and get to know me better. I wish I had something my grandmother had written.

  3. I feel exactly the same way. I think of my blog as a diary, something for my family to have and look at in future generations. As a child of survivors, nothing was handed down, at least my children will have stories and recipes. My gift to them.

    Irene

  4. So many good bloggers have stopped, and many bloggers fb a lot. I’ve been blogging on both blogs, fb’ing and emailing. I see facebook as a compromise. I have time, so I do it all.
    I love comments, but there are fewer.

  5. Spam: “Am I the only one?” – no

    I’ve never thought of my blog as a way of preserving information for my children.

    “Do you find that your blogging activity has evolved?” – I have more knowledge about what works and what doesn’t. In terms of my tech-biz blog, too much of what doesn’t work, unfortunately! Still trying to figure out what does. The posts that have been successful take weeks to execute. Sigh.

  6. I guessed the photo is Versailles… I looked at the file name, and I seem to be correct! It looks like Washington, DC without the buildings. French architects.

  7. I use my blog as a communicating tool with my friends and sometimes I even gain friends by putting myself out there. My blog has never been that successful and I am kind of glad that it isn’t. Lately I have tried to post something thoughout the work week. Although, I have yet to find time to post over the weekend. This week I have been rather busy and my blog has been silent.

    I have enjoyed your blog for many years, keep it up! Oh, I am looking forward to seeing what the changes are.

    Be Well!!!

  8. Yes, I get a lot of spam lately too!

    Yes, I’m posting less at the moment. Most of this semi-hiatus is due to my upcoming Bat Mitzvah, but I have also had a much busier schedule of late too.

    As to what to write about – this has changed. I need to work out my ‘style’ for the future. I don’t want to stop as I value the people I have linked up with, through my blogging.

    And I absolutely echo James’s comments about your blog!

  9. Pingback: Weekly Review with Classroom | Ilana-Davita

  10. I recently posted less due to medical issues, life in general, etc. It happens to all of us.

    I hope to get back to my blogging routine soon.

    Some weeks are better than others.

  11. This is true for me, especially for my original blog, which is a mostly friends-only Livejournal and all my friends there are people I know in real life. As time went on, more and more of my friends got busier and stopped using LJ. My current WordPress blog is a sort of replacement for that, I guess. Or at least that’s what I said when I ended my 2-3 month blogging hiatus and revamped what I was going to write about. I think a big contributing factor to the slowing down of blogs is the growing popularity of Facebook. Facebook is definately not a blog and it’s very different, but people do use it to get things off their chests and get responses on what they’re thinking and what they’ve experienced.

Leave a Reply

