Sync Regularly

iphone.jpg

Some of you may be aware that I was without my IPhone for what seemed like age; in fact probably no more than 10 days. It had dropped on the ground and, whenever I switched it on, all I got was a blank screen.

I therefore phoned AppleCare through my mobile network operator and got a fine and efficient answer. First, UPS came to my house to pick it up. Then, after three days, they sent me a brand new one.

When I got the new one, I was instructed to connect it to ITunes, just as with the previous one. When the software recognized that it was connected to an IPhone, I got a message asking me if I wished to restore my former data to the new phone. I clicked “yes”.

It took the phone quite a while to do this but, in the end, all the apps I had previuously downloaded (for free or through the App store), the ringtone I had added, my phone contacts, everything, including the different times on my alarm clock, were installed on the new phone as if nothing had happened.

This was only possible because I had regularly synced my Iphone to the data on the computer. So I suggest that if you are the lucky owner of an IPhone, you should try to perform this simple operation every now and again. It might save you a lot of trouble in the future.

12 thoughts on “Sync Regularly

  1. That’s great that you experienced such prompt and excellent customer service!

    I don’t have an IPhone, but your post reminds me that it’s time for me to backup my computer… 🙂

  2. Good post about the iPhone! My daughter wants an iPhone (when she grows up) because her friend’s mom has one. We told her when she grows up, something else will be new and “in.”

  3. glad you have it back! my husband is obsessed (no really, obsessed) with his iphone. while i love all that it can do, sometimes i wish he *would* drop it. is that wrong? 🙂 me on the other hand, i would feel the same way if anything happened to my trusty laptop! 🙂

  4. Oh yes…. I keep on meaning to do that, but something always gets in the way.

    I’ll put a reminder in my calendar right now. I can let it do its thing whilst I do my thing…!

    • The only reason I did it regularly was to sync my contacts. I hadn’t quite realized it synced so much useful information. Now that I do, I am glad the last time I had synced wasn’t ages ago.

  5. Pingback: Weekly Review with Narrow Street « Ilana-Davita

Leave a Reply

