Emails vs Facebook

266px-Facebook.svg.png

I realize that more and more people send me direct messages via Facebook, including some who emailed me a few months ago. I wonder why this is and if this is going to be a lasting trend.

Will we have a dual way to communicate with people, via Facebook with our “friend” and via emails for others? Besides we could even imagine that we’d create FB pages, similar to FB fan or business pages, through which they would interact professionally.

Thus my administration and my students could leave me FB messages rather than send me emails. Newsletters, articles and weekly divrei torah would appear on the FB pages I have subscribed to rather than in my mailbox. Then we’d use emails only for e-commerce; unless something else came up.

One issue that would arise is effienciency as we’d have to make sure we know how to get in touch with people when we need a prompt or traceable answer. Too many ways of contacting or being contacted resulting in cacophony rather than productivity.

Do you find that the way you communicate with others has evolved? Do you think we’ll end up giving up emails altogether?