Sepia Scenes #4: Budapest

budapestman.jpg

When we visited Budapest in 2006, I couldn’t help photographing this man. To me he had a Cold War look, a bit like Ulrich Mühe and other Stasi agents in The Lives of Others.

Mary The Teach has created a new meme, Sepia Scenes. Click here to join in or learn how to apply a sepia tone to a photograph.

sepiascene.jpg

Teacher’s Blues

trees.jpg

Teaching seems enjoyable to outsiders since we are in contact with young people a lot or because of the holidays we get . As regards the holidays, I think we need them so as to erase the “hard disk” and forget all the horrible experiences we have had during the previous weeks. Concerning the fact that we work with young people, sometimes they can be so annoying that their age seems more of a problem than an asset.

I teach six classes this year; three of which are quite hard to work with. What I really can’t stand at the moment is students who can’t be bothered and make no efforts whatsoever to hide it. The three difficult classes are full of this kind of kids. They talk together as if that’s what they had come to the class for. When I tell them off, they stop for about one minute and and then resume their conversations as if nothing had happened.

My colleagues tell me that they experience the same problem with their own classes; which makes me wonder what we can do to change things.

Textbooks have never been so atractive, we have never spent so much time online working on one project or another, we try to keep up with what is going on in the outside world without being over demagogic.

Then, what is wrong?