American Elections

180px-Americanflags.jpg

 

I used to think that Americans were not interested in politics. For instance,I had read that fewer than 50% of voters cared enough to vote to elect their president. Until this presidential election.

This time it looks as though more people will go to the polls than in recent elections; this is a good thing for democracy. What’s more, this election seems to have generated a lot of enthusiasm for politics.

I have followed this particular one on the radio, on tv but mostly on the web through the various blogs I regularly visit. Over the months I have read your posts (Raizy, Cynthia, Treppenwitz, Dys and a lot of others come to mind) and comments and have been greatly impressed.

Some of you have written great posts, arguing passionately for one candidate or his opponent. Others have answered just as passionately. But what I will remember is that people have generally done it with respect; at least on the blogs I read. I realize that not everyone is as civil and courteous but I am proud that my favorite bloggers are.