Shuls in Hong Kong

hk-shul.jpg

Ohel Leah

When planning a trip, I like to search the net and find a synagogue within walking distance of the place where I am staying. Unfortunately it is not always as easy as it may seem. So when I was getting ready to go and visit my brother and his family in Hong Kong, I wondered what I would find.

Thus, I discovered that in Hong Kong, the community has six synagogues as well as a community center. The first two seem to be independent whereas the four others are all part of the Jewish Community Center, even if, in Chabad’s case, the shuls are situated elsewhere.

Kehilat Zion is a Sephardic synagogue which was established in 1995 by Syrian businessmen of New York and the Sephardic Shecheber Center of Jerusalem. It is located in Kowloon and serves the Jewish community of Hong Kong and the many businessmen, tourists, and backpackers passing through the area.

– There is another Sephardic synagogue in Hong Kong, on the main island. Shuva Israel Synagogue and Community Center presents itself as as the only operating “Kolel” in the far east. There are also a restaurant and a store on its premices.

– As in most cities worldwide, there is a Chabad Lubavitch congregation on the main island and one in Kowloon. Like Kehilat Zion, the latter mainly caters for overseas businessmen and visitors.

– There is a liberal community: the United Jewish Congregation of Hong Kong. It holds its services within the Jewish Community Centre.

– The oldest shul in Hong Kong is Ohel Leah. It was built by Sir Jacob Sassoon and was opened in 1902. Like a number of Modern orthodox communities, it embraces diversity and thus welcomes Jews from diverse backgrounds and level of observance. Its present rabbi is Rabbi Martin van den Bergh. He was born in Holland in 1952, brought up in Zimbabwe, came to London in 1969 and gained Rabbinical ordination in Jerusalem in 1983. Before coming to Hong Kong, he was Rabbi of Wembley United Synagogue. This shul was the one I chose. I emailed the rabbi to get more information and got a prompt answer. I felt welcome and was sorry I had made other arrangements with my family and so couldn’t attend the Shabbat meal after the service. Maybe next time…