Lacking Focus – Thursday Musings

jeannesphoto.jpg

As much as I like the new classes I was assigned in September, I am finding it hard to keep up with the new load of work and find the right state of mind to do things for myself once the preps are ready.

What’s more, as if I didn’t have enough on my plate already, I have been asked for the third time since September to find material for exams. It was texts then, pictures (ads, paintings, photos, cartoons…) in January and podcasts (along with their scripts) now.

I seem to have spent ages listening to audio podcasts as well as watching videos from The Wall Street Journal, The Financial Times, The South China Morning Post and other online media.

I have also learnt how to record and convert video files into mp3 files, although I still don’t know how to download from certain websites which protect their data – The Wall Street Journal for instance.

In the past few months, I seem to have spent so much time online trying to find new (and exciting?) material that when I have finished I am left with the feeling that most of my energy has been drained out of my mind and my body.

I would also like to go back to some serious Torah study of some sort but don’t quite know where to start. Anyone with bright ideas is welcome and will earn a point (or more) in my good book.