Friday Fictioneers – Stockholms Slot

This is my latest entry into the weekly challenge brought to us by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Just follow the rules: Using the photo below as a prompt, write a one hundred word story that has a beginning, middle and end. (No one will be ostracized for going over or under the word count.)

Comments are of course welcome!

slot.jpg
copyright – Managua Gunn

“Who’s this granddad?”

Nils climbs on my lap, puts a peck on my unshaven cheek and makes himself comfortable. He points at the photo behind me, half-hidden behind a stack of books, newspapers and bills.

Nils is my daughter’s first son, the latest addition to the family. I love them all but this little blond guy reminds me of the three year old I once was. They have come for the week.

I look wistfully at the old shot. A young person in full uniform, proudly guarding the Royal Palace in Stockholm, staring ahead. Long before the accident that stole my legs, and his grandma.



53 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Stockholms Slot

    • I have a shot taken from practically the same angle so I found it amusing to see the photo yesterday morning.
      I am glad you found the ending unexpected! It seems I have achieved what I wanted.

  1. At three children are still non judgemental. But they do ask questions, don’t they? I suspect that it won’t be long before grandpa will be introducing his grandson to some family history. I’m pretty amazed at how truly complete a hundred word story can be. Nice one, Hannah.

  2. Pingback: Summer Weekly Review | Hannah's Nook

  3. Wow Hannah – you are learning to add the FLASH punch in quickly- a great write – liked that you and Rochelle have captured the easier innocence of childhood in your flashes. Wasn’t expecting the mix of tragedy at the end.

Leave a Reply

