Friday Fictioneers – Old Shot

This is my second entry into the weekly challenge brought to us by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields and pointed out to me by Freya. Just follow the rules: Write a one hundred word story that has a beginning, middle and end. (No one will be ostracized for going over or under the word count.) Comments are welcome!

FF2.jpg

I saw that red dress as I was cycling to work, hanging on a balcony, idly floating against a backdrop of red stones. It haunted me all day. I knew I had seen it before.

Once at home I checked several boxes of unclassified photos and there it was, staring at me from decades ago. The polaroid shot had been taken at my parents’ wedding. I had to phone mum.

– Yes, darling! Lisa was my bridesmaid. Rumour has it she has not been quite herself since then. You see, after the party, her boyfriend announced he had met someone else and flew to Rome the next day. Tragic really!



53 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Old Shot

  1. Hannah, I think I must have missed your story last week, but welcome to the group.
    It would be like a ghost from the past to suddenly see that dress and recognize it from a picture. Great story.

  2. Pingback: Friday Fictioneers #10 The Scandalous Dress | The Mystical Sea

  3. Pingback: Belated Weekly Review | Hannah's Nook

  4. Welcome to the challenge – you have a lovely blog – and far more comments than I have ever managed on a FF challenge – I never get to post in the first 60!
    I liked this story, emotive – lots of character depth in such a short flash.

Leave a Reply

