Classic Combo

20130418-154322.jpg

I was a little optimistic last week when I thought I would manage to write blog posts during my trip. Still one thing that I can easily write about is food.

The food in Hong Kong is quite similar to Cantonese food, with tastes that are more alien to the Western palate than that of Beijing.

One staple element of Chinese food however is soup. At lunch time, people flock to small restaurants and eat all sorts of noodles in broth. Numerous places offer this on their menus for a nominal sum; the only problem being to find one where the menu is in English.

Here is an idea of the kind of combination you can have:
– vegetable broth, sweet and sour broth (mild, medium, hot or very hot) or spicy hot broth – the last two being meat broths
– rice noodles (round), rice vermicelli or udon
– two choices among the following list: vegetables, pickled vegetables, Chinese chive, bean sprouts, mushrooms, fish slices, duck slices, beef slices, pork slices, tofu, soy puffs, bean curd crisp slice, pork intestine (!!)

5 thoughts on “Classic Combo

  1. Sounds tasty. Would enjoy pickled vegetables, if not too salty. Love udon noodles. I wonder who designed those spoons – I see that flat bottom style in Asian restaurants here.

    • I hesitated but finally chose the non-pickled vegetables (mainly bok choi) and chive. I didn’t have udon noodles and took the round rice noodles instead, which I had never tried.
      All the spoons seem to have this shape. I suppose it it is a traditional design.

  2. Now that has made me hungry! The problem with some of those soups though, is that they’re not very filling, so you need to eat something else afterwards!! Or is that just me….

    • Before ordering I thought I’d still feel a little hungry (I usually have a good appetite) but in fact the bowl was huge – not something which is very obvious on the photo.

  3. Pingback: Still not Quite a Weekly Review | Ilana-Davita

Leave a Reply

