Baked Apple and Almond Pudding

appletree.JPG

Having made a soup and a salad for the Friday evening meal, I felt I could indulge in a dessert. I had some organic apples and ground almonds and wished to combine the two. A quick Google search led me to Delia’s recipe which I slightly adapted (one omission, two additions and a time modification).

3-4 servings
1 lb (450 g) Bramley or Elstar apples, peeled, cored and sliced
cinnamon
4 oz (110 g) ground almonds
4 oz (110 g) butter, at room temperature
4 oz (110 g) caster sugar
2 large eggs, beaten

Place the apples in a saucepan with approximately 2 tablespoons of water, simmer gently until soft, and then arrange them in the bottom of a buttered baking dish. Sprinkle with cinnamon.

In a mixing bowl, cream the butter and caster sugar until pale and fluffy and then the beaten eggs. Add and incorporate the ground almonds. Now spread this mixture over the apples, and even out the surface with the back of a tablespoon.

Then bake on a highish shelf in the oven for 40 minutes at 180°C/350°F. I am convinced 1 hour is far too long.

This dessert can served warm or cold. It is nice on its own but you can probably add cream, custard or a scoop of vanilla ice cream. It keeps well in the fridge and is still lovely the next day.

6 thoughts on “Baked Apple and Almond Pudding

  1. Oh, yum! That sounds delicious. I’m curious about what a Bramley or Elstar apple tastes like. We don’t have those varieties here. I assume they’d be like the apple varieties used for baking. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Of Books, Mosque, Schools and Divrei Torah – a Weekly Review | Ilana-Davita

  3. Hannah – you’ve adapted Delia’s recipe in exactly the same way as I have – and I also found that if I put the original recipe on a highish shelf at 180 the top came out far too brown and overcooked …. I now do on a low shelf at 170 and it’s scrumptious. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

