Thai Soup with Chickpeas

streetfood2.jpg

Ingredients (serves about 4 people):
I red onion, thinly sliced
2-3 garlic cloves
1 small butternut squash, peeled and cubed
1 red pepper
1 parsley root, peeled and cubed
1 carrot, peeled and cubed
1 tbsp of red curry paste
lime juice
coconut milk
1/2 can of chickpeas

Gently sauté the onion, then add the garlic. Add the vegetables after about 5 minutes. Cover with water and add the curry paste. Cover and simmer for half an hour.

When the vegetables are cooked, purée the soup until it is very smooth. Add some coconut milk to taste, 2 or 3 tablespoons of lime juice and the chickpeas. Simmer gently for another 5 minutes. Season to taste – I added a splash of soya sauce – and serve.

Option: sprinkle with chopped cilantro just before serving.

6 thoughts on “Thai Soup with Chickpeas

  1. That was fast typing! Looks delicious.

    I have some leek soup cooking now, so I’m smelling delicious soup smells while I read your post.

    A new toy to tell you about: Pinterest. I already sent a tweet to Robin E. about it – a great way for her to showcase her photography.

  2. It was lucky that I was on the computer when I saw Rivki’s comment on FB so all I had to do was to type the recipe.

    What’s in your soup? I have eaten mine but I am still interested!

    I’ll have to check what Pinterest is. At present i am trying to work out how I can se my iPad with the classroom video projector for more reliability (there have been no end of technical problems with the computers in the whole school).

  3. I just went shopping (before I got this) and was hoping to make something like this but instead bought ingredients for a squash soup. Will keep this for another day (and buy red curry–I have the rest on hand). Merci!

Leave a Reply

