Kosher Revolution – a Book Review

619S2RzAdhL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

Because of work, the exchange with Sweden, the High Holidays and now the fall vacation I have not had as much time as I would have liked for experimentations in cooking.

However since I received a review copy of Kosher Revolution before Rosh Hashanah, I thought I would try and find a seasonal recipe in this new cookbook for the holiday.

Kosher Revolution aims at making “kosher cooking indistinguishable from any other kind.” By this the authors of this book, Geila Hocherman and Arthur Boehm, mean that modern cuisine and kosher cooking are quite compatible. The inspiration seems to come mainly from Mediterranean and Asian cuisines.

Kosher Revolution is divided into several clear parts that make it easy to navigate the book:
– Getting Started – tips on cooking as well as advice on a well-stocked pantry
– Hors d’Oeuvres and Starters
– Soups – a section that includes appetizing Newly Minted Pea Soup and Coconut-Ginger Squash Soup
– Fish – a unit where
– Poultry
– Poultry – nice-looking recipes for chicken with a change
– Meat
– Meatless Mains – Tess’ Penne with Blue Cheese, Pecans and Sultanas sounds great for a busy winter evening
– Sides – I intend to try Middle-Eastern Zucchini Cakes with Tahini Sauce for Hannukah
– Breakfast and Brunch
– Sweets – where I found the delicious Allie’s Apple Cake
– Basics- a section devoted to Challah, stock and sauces

The book is beautifully illustrated and the instruction easy to follow. I only have one regret: the recipes do not look as revolutionary as the title suggests. Nevertheless if Allie’s Apple Cake is anything to go by, they promise to be both reasonably simple and delightful.

6 thoughts on “Kosher Revolution – a Book Review

  1. Mmmm. . . I like the sound of those recipes, although I sort of find the grandiose promise of the title a little off-putting. Blue cheese, sultanas and pecans is an original combination that should be fantastic over pasta (and it probably is a pretty easy recipe, too).

    I tend to at least mostly follow the recipe when I make it for the first time, but it depends.

  2. Nice to hear from you/read one of your posts!

    When it comes to cake, I’ve learned the hard way that I should follow the recipe! I might be interested in the chicken recipes – often looking for new ways to dress da bird.

Leave a Reply

