The Mysteries of Teenagehood

reddetails2.jpg

 

A couple of years ago when my students created a Facebook profile, they usually did not bother about privacy and it was usually possible to see their photos and read or write on their walls.

Fast forward two years and numerous articles about the dangers of revealing too much about oneself, their FB accounts have become as tight as the CIA data. Until something a little unusual comes up.

Last night I created a FB profile for the language exchange we have with a high school in Sweden and invited them to join. Since I had noticed that communication via email was difficult with our students I created this persona to share thrilling announcements about payment deadlines, health cards, meetings, … I wrote them an email to let them know about this FB profile, stressing that if they did not want to share their data with Echange Franco-suédois they would need to alter their privacy settings.

Within 20 hours 17 students out 25 have asked to be Echange Franco-suédois‘s friend and it seems none of them have changed their settings thus allowing me and my two colleagues to share the exciting news they or they friends post on FB. Go figure.

13 thoughts on “The Mysteries of Teenagehood

  1. I’ve seen a lot of organizations and stuff who have profiles instead of groups or pages. I never friend them because I don’t want people I don’t know and like seeing everything on my profile.

  2. Of course, nerdy me wonders why you didn’t set this up as a group? I don’t know anything about the people in the groups that I belong to, other than what they post on the group.

  3. Pingback: March Review with Breads | Ilana-Davita

Leave a Reply

