Japanese, Organic and Kosher

waterlilly.jpg

Since I embarked on a new diet, I have naturally bought a number of Japanese products (ramen noodles, soy sauce, miso soup). This afternoon, I went to the local organic store, not necessarily to purchase Japanese foods, but to check what they had in store and find inspiration for upcoming meals.

I was pleasantly surprised to discover Clearspring, a British brand which specializes in quality Japanese , Oriental and European foods. Not only are the products I bought from Japan and organic, but they are also kosher certified.

Now I wish I had realized they also kosher certified European products, such as olive oil, as I would have bought some. The siver lining is that the next visit to the store will be more fun as I’ll try to uncover what kosher products they stock.

24 thoughts on “Japanese, Organic and Kosher

    • I have a few recipes to share but have not had much time to write the posts yet. It takes longer when measures are involved since I convert them for those who do not use the metric system.
      I use ramen noodles in stir-fry. That’s a recipe that could be shared; I just play it by ear.

  1. Ilana,

    Cold-pressed, extra virgin olive oil doesn’t need kosher certification, even according to most strict Orthodox authorities.

    By the way, I really like the new masthead! When did you put it up? I usually read most blogs on my phone, where I wouldn’t have noticed it.

    • Philo,

      I know about extra virgin olive oil not needing kosher certification (and normally buy Carapelli) but appreciate the fact that they are making an effort to provide kosher certification. When you live in a place like mine with no kosher stores around, you are grateful for kosher certified products which are much less of a hassle than trying to remember lists of kosher products. But thanks for telling me anyway.

      I got the new header in the middle of December. It was made by Leora, from Here in HP.

      • Excellent! More energy is always a bonus! What food that you have cut out do you think wasn’t helping (if that makes sense?)? Sugar, apparently, is awful in that respect, because of the peak and trough effect it has.

  2. Rachel: I hardly ever eat sugar (not in tea or coffee, no honey, no jam, I rarely eat cakes or biscuits and the list could go on) so that’s not the reason for the extra energy.
    I have been eating more soy adf vegetables and I force myself to eat a decent breakfast in the morning. That could be it.

  3. Bonne nouvelle !!

    En plus, le certificat KLBD (Kosher London Beith Din) n’a rien Ă  voir vace l’Ă©quivalent de Paris : possibilitĂ© de manger sans compter !!

    Au passage, j’attends toujours mon interview en ligne :-))

    Bye

  4. I look forward to reading your new recipes. Let people look up the conversions themselves. (Heavens, if America is STILL not on the bandwagon for metrics, let them fend for themselves!)

    I also like the new masthead.

  5. Pingback: Double Weekly Review with Flower | Ilana-Davita

Leave a Reply

