New Diet or New Habits?

banana-market.jpg

 

Because I wish to lose weight and because I try to take care of my health, I seriously plan to change a number of things in my diet and my routine.

After having considered several diets, I have come to believe that I need to settle on things that are feasible and can be easily integrated into my life. Thus a low-carbohydrate diet is fine in the summer but doesn’t work (for me anyway) in cold weather. On the contrary I know that cutting down on meat – especially red – is something I can do.

I also know that I need to adopt a healthier routine: more walking for instance. There are lots of places I can walk to rather than take the car. I ought to start a sport too but do not feel ready (yet).

I received this morning a book which deals with the Okinawa diet and am hopeful that it will inspire some change. I don’t anticipate to revolutionize the way I eat or live but hope that I will enjoy whatever I choose to adopt.

Hopefully I’ll get some insight about soy consumption, especially by women. Finally I am looking forward to read and try new recipes. I made a dessert with sweet potatoes tonight but will only eat it at breakfast tomorrow.

Meanwhile here are two links you might like to try:
Japanese Noodle Vegetable Salad with Peanut Sauce and To Tofu or Not to Tofu: Tasty Substitutes for Dairy or Meat

28 thoughts on “New Diet or New Habits?

  1. Our local chiropractor/alternative health guru (someone whose opinion I value) tells people who want to lose weight to cut out sugar. And he means ketchup, too, and any product that contains sugar. He also advocates eating animal products (especially if organic), because animal proteins fill you up and last longer than other foods.

    Good luck! Any diet that drives you crazy isn’t worthy it. I hope you can find a good compromise diet for yourself.

    • I have a feeling most French people don’t drown their food under ketchup the way some Americans do. We have some (Heinz light) ketchup in the fridge but I don’t think I touch the stuff more than once a month. I sometimes eat chutney though and that contains sugar too.

      • I don’t keep ketchup in the house, generally. Although I bought some for a barbecue in the summer and surprisingly, it is still around. It’s a cheap brand. Good luck with the diet and thanks for the link.
        Also, some people think that white sugar is addictive. Once you take it out of your diet and get used to doing without, you stop craving it.

  2. And thank you for the link! Glad you liked that particular noodle salad.

    (FYI, when I said “advocates eating animal products” I mean advocates including some animal products in a broad diet with other nutritious foods, too).

    • I am not going to eliminate all animal products: I like eggs, chicken and fish too much but I believe that too much animal fat is definitely not good for our arteries. At least we don’t have to worry about what “bacon and eggs” and “baked beans and sausages” do to our systems.

  3. Thanks for the links…I will check them out. I do use tofu in my diet, and stir fry it with vegetables.

    I do like Japanese noodles…yum, and have had several noodle salads and soups in Japan.

    Portion control is a good way to also eat right. And, eating four or five small meals, instead of three larger ones, is an excellent way to eat healthily.

  4. I was just talking about this today with my daughter! Because I can never stay on a diet for very long (I get soooo hungry), I have decided instead to start eliminating unhealthy foods one at a time. First I cut out cola entirely, now I am eliminating hard cheese completely. I have also been eating a lot of fresh spinach. Next up… probably mayonnaisse. I hope that slowly but permanently cutting out “bad” foods will lead to better health and weight loss.
    Good luck with your efforts!

    • Exactly my problem Raizy: not eating rice or other carbohydrates in winter just makes me feel hungry and cranky. So eliminating “bad stuff” is really what I am more or less doing right now. Some stuff I don’t eat anyway (like jam) and some I am trying to eliminate (like cheese too). Concerning cheese I am finding this quite hard since I quite like it.

  5. I’ve lost and kept off over 15 kilo by making changes I can live with. Here’s a Diet Trick. Basically, I’ve cut out carbohydrates and eat a lot of vegetables and three good proteins per day.
    You’ll find more posts on me-ander.blogspot.com

    • Congratulations on the weight loss Batya. And thank you for the link. I had read some of your posts about your diet but was not too sure about the links.
      As I said though I find t is too cold here to stick to low-carbohydrate diet when the temperature is below zero like now.

  6. I hadn’t heard of the Okinawa Diet – very interesting!

    Cutting down or completely cutting out the breads/cereals etc certainly worked for me with regards to weight, irrespective of the fact that my feeling under the weather most of the time was caused, in a big part, by a gluten problem. I had a horrendous experience back in October when I ate some organic baked beans (no sugar etc) – the sauce contained gluten and I didn’t even think about it before eating them (I was tired, it was late, etc). I was so ill for the next 3 days…

    I know what you mean about finding it difficult in the winter to not eat carby food. Since I can’t tolerate rice or pasta either, I relpaced these with potatoes (baked, usually). They are carby of course, but it seemed to work for me and I don’t seem to have ballooned because of it!

    I still eat meat – but only good quality, organic cuts. It’s more expensive, but I’d rather eat less, good quality meat.

    Good luck!

    • What an inconvenient allergy! I seem to know more and more people who suffer from it; not fun. Do you always remember to warn people when you get invited?
      i agree with you about quality meat but we can’t find meat that is both organic and kosher so I never eat organic meat.

      • I do sometimes forget about telling people, I have to say. But a lot of my friends tend to not eat gluten-laden things anyway, which is handy. If it’s just bread as an additional item, that’s not a problem for me to avoid. I do sometimes feel I need a card to hand out – I do not eat pork, shellfish, bread, cereals, rice……..!

        Yes, it is difficult on the meat front, I agree.

  7. Hannah: I am lucky to have no craving for sugar. When I was a child my mom never bought us sweets and was already very careful about our sugar intake so I have good habits in that sector. It is other stuff I need to cut down on.

  8. I think you’re on the right track with looking for something feasible and easy to integrate. I’ve also heard that cutting down on white flour and sugar can make a big difference, and I completely agree with jewwishes about portion control. I’ve had a lot of success with walking everywhere (that you can). I’m twenty pounds less than when I got married (and after two kids), and the main thing I credit with it is that I walk practically everywhere (except in the winter when there’s mounds and mounds of snow), and I don’t eat past when I’m full, usually.

    Good luck!

  9. Good luck. I think that you really have the right idea when you look at it as a whole. I agree with you on the winter carb issue. Carbs are also important as we need them for the production of seratonin. Moderation seems to be the key or so I’ve been told. I think that Rivki is right about the walking, you’ll increase your exercise without pain. I have always found that swimming makes me hungry so I just use it to cross train. Again, best of luck, we’re cheering for you.

  10. Pingback: Review with Broccoli » Here in HP, Highland Park, New Jersey blog

  11. Pingback: Weekly Review with Kiosk | Ilana-Davita

  12. Pingback: Japanese, Organic and Kosher | Ilana-Davita

  13. Pingback: Healthy and Favorite Recipes of 2011 | Ilana-Davita

Leave a Reply

