Sweet and Sour Chicken Stew

sweetsourchicken.jpg

Like the Quick, Easy and Cheap Tuna Curry, this recipe originated in my cousin’s kitchen. The ingredients here are mere indications; do not hesitate to add or change the quantities according to taste and availability.

Ingredients for four:
2 onions, sliced
4 chicken thighs
2-3 garlic cloves, crushed
3 preserved lemons, sliced
4-5 peeled and sliced zucchini
1 pound fesh baby bell mushroom, sliced
1 can beer (my cousin uses lager, I prefer darker ales)
1 can pineapple, drained and cubed
1/é tsp hot red pepper
salt and pepper to taste

Sauté onions in olive oil in a large pot and add chicken thighs. Brown on all sides, lower the heat, add garlic and cover for 5-10 minutes.
Add the lemons, zucchini and mushrooms. Barely cover with beer, season, cover tightly and simmer for at least one hour. After one hour, add pineapple cubes. Cook for another 10 minutes.

10 thoughts on “Sweet and Sour Chicken Stew

  1. My husband made a stew for Friday night with dark beer. The recipe was in last weeks Makor Rishon (newspaper here in Israel). Then this week the columnist gave a recipe for chicken with beer (short Shabbat and I didn’t even get to that part of the paper but my daughter told me) so it seems that cooking with beer is becoming quite the “IN” thing! I’m sure he will be interested in this recipe. (I tend to distrust beer because I don’t like to drink it. But the stew was good.)

    • If I had a crockpot, I’d probably use it for this kind of dihhes. Do you brown your meat in a pan before you put all your ingredients in the pot.
      I don’t think I’ve ever bought beer in my life.
      Belgium has such great beers, that it would be a sin for us to live so near and not to try them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

