Poached Salmon

poachedsalmon.jpg

Just because we can’t eat today doesn’t mean we can’t think about food. Before Rosh Hashanah, I posted a request on Facebook asking for ideas for healthy recipes. Ruti mentioned that for her family poached salmon has become a “must have” meal for this holiday.

Salmon being one of my favorite food, I got in touch with Ruti who kindly sent me her recipe. Here it is. I followed it to the letter with one exception: I used preserved lemons instead of fresh ones.

I slice onions very thinly, and cover the bottom of the deep frying pan. Perhaps two or three. Then I lay the salmon on the onion bed. On top of the fish fillet, I sprinkle salt, pepper, and perhaps a bit of crushed garlic. On top of this, I decoratively place thin slices of lemon. Then I fill the pan with water, to just above the onions, and lay in a few sprigs of dill.

Once the water boils, I reduce the heat, cover the pan, and simmer for a few minutes. When the fish begins to lose its translucence, I turn off the heat, and let it sit in the broth for perhaps a half an hour. As is the nature (at least for me) of cooking fish, getting it to the right level of “doneness” is tricky. The fish can be served hot or cold. I general serve it warm or at room temperature at night; and if there are leftovers, it makes a very lovely cold repast for lunch.

22 thoughts on “Poached Salmon

  1. This is sort of how I made salmon on Friday, except without all the lovely garnish – mine had lemon juice and dill. I find it easy to make on a Yom Tov day.

    I am already thinking about a somewhat healthy cookie recipe to make for Sukkot (oatmeal chocolate chip, probably), as kids will show up in my Sukkah and will balk if I serve them carrots.

    Good luck with the fast… I am already fearing Yom Kippur and how far I can make it with fasting. Today I will just eat less. My body gets dehydrated too quickly for safety, unfortunately (related to my medication).

    • The preserved lemons add a nice tangy touch. As for dill I enjoy eating the sprigs.
      Healthy cookies sound good, even if it is almost a contradiction in terms.
      Fasts aren’t easy. If I have time I will write a post warning against being “a pious fool”, talking from personal experience. 🙂 Safety is more important than anything else. Even today I might drink a few drops of coffee since I need to keep a migraine at bay and must work to make up for the three days when it wasn’t possible.

      • Being a “pious fool” does nobody any good. I know this from past experience, myself. Aside from medications, I have a medical disorder which requires I make sure that I keep hydrated, and I must take a bite of something every four or five hours.

        The thought is there, with the drive to eat and drink as little as possible, but health issues rule.

  2. Just because we can’t eat today doesn’t mean we can’t think about food.
    Actually, since we can’t eat, ALL we do today is think about food… 🙂

    Shanah tovah and have an easy fast!

  3. This isn’t a fast day that is typically observed in my liberal Jewish world (not that I’m allowed/supposed to fast in any case). So I did some reading up and learned something new. Ah, the joy of being Jewish – all the learning to be had!

    The salmon recipe sounds lovely. My friends cooked a beautiful and yet simple salmon meal for us on Friday night – simply grilled, with a garlic, honey and dill dressing. Accompanied by a simple green salad and a potato salad. A lovely evening – the best of it being surrounded by friends.

    Shavua Tov & Shanah Tovah!

    • When the ingredients are fresh and tasty, a simple meal is great. I bet I’d enjoy the garlic, honey and dill dressing. Any ideas about the proportions?
      Shavua Tov & Shanah Tovah to you too!

      • I can ask – but knowing these particular friends, it’s probably all done by eye, which is quite often how I do things too!

        I hope your migraine goes away soon – I can utterly empathise.

  4. Pingback: Kosher for Pesach Dishes – Meat and Fish | Ilana-Davita

  5. Pingback: Meat and Fish Pesach Dishes – 2011/5771 Update | Ilana-Davita

Leave a Reply

