If I Can Be of Any Help

400px-Hamburg_Jungfernstieg_(1890-1900).jpg

After much planning and unplanning, we seem to have finally decided where we’ll go for this year’s summer vacation. First we wished to go to the Italian Lakes, Lake Maggiore to be precise, but since we are already going to the South of France at the very end of August we settled for a different direction. Another factor in the decision is that the a/c on my car has broken down and my reliable auto mechanic is on holiday himself; thus going to the North seemed wiser.

So Hamburg, it will be. The reason why I am posting this is that we will visit BallinStadt, the Migration Museum of Hamburg which recalls that Hamburg was the departure port for most Germans and Eastern Europeans to emigrate to the United States in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

The museum has preserved passenger lists of the more than five million people who went to the New World from BallinStadt. So if you know or think that some family members headed for America via Hamburg, feel free to ask me to check names, dates and other data or to take photos.

10 thoughts on “If I Can Be of Any Help

    • I will email you with a name or two.
      Any time between now and August 6 is fine. After that we’ll be in Germany and we haven’t quite decided when we’ll visit this museum. It will probably depend on the weather forecast.

  1. How wonderful! I’ve never been to Hamburg so it will be very interesting to hear all about it – and see photos of course! I wish I had names to give to you – but what a wonderful offer to make.

    We too have had to reschedule our summer holiday – I may write about it myself…

    Shabbat Shalom!

    • Apparently British tourists constitute the largest group visiting Hamburg every year, followed by the Swiss, the Austrians and then Americans.
      Looking forward to reading about your own vacation.

  2. Hmm. I wonder if anyone from my family left Europe via Hamburg. However, I suspect that this information has been lost to the sands of time, because the generations who made the trip are – sadly – no longer with us…

    Shabbat Shalom!

Leave a Reply

