Dear Students

cherbourg-harbor.jpg

Unlike what you seem to imply, I don’t particularly like to be angry/mad at you. What’s more, I’d appreciate if you could learn the meaning of “deadline” and understand why I am not terribly delighted when you hand in an essay four days late.

Things would be so much easier between you and me if you could realize that some people plan their work in adavance. When I intend to mark essays on Monday afternoons – especially when I know more are coming from a different class the following days- I’d like to do it then, not a week later.

Besides try and get out of your young heads that people who are trying to teach you a few basics about target dates, consideration and politeness are not monsters who hate you but human beings who might even care about your future.

Finally it isn’t pleasant to start the weekend in a foul mood because of your nasty remarks. You are 17 or even 18, please grow up.

13 thoughts on “Dear Students

  1. Why does this post make me think of trying to get my daughter to school on time? And then when she says all sorts of nasties to me when she doesn’t like the food in the refrigerator. Hard to train ’em young ‘uns.

    Stick to your rules, in a polite a fashion as you can. That’s what I try to do with my kids.

  2. Sad, very sad that you had to write this post, but really sad that not ONE of your students reacted to it.

    I think that most important in educating young people (yesterday and today) is to show them very, very clearly that Yes is Yes and No is No, that there are limits and points where trespassing is not allowed.
    Losing your patience is human, Ilana-Davita, getting angry is, too. Yelling STOP will help them find their bearings, bearings they all too often have lost in life outside of school.
    Being strict and loving/caring go together well, no matter what your relationship with a young person.

    • “Being strict and loving/caring go together well” – true for a parent as well. My daughter will tell me I’m not being nice, and that hurts, but I must continue to enforce the rule in question.

      One has to get through the “that hurts” part and get on with the enforcing.

      • strict and loving/caring
        I think a lot of teenagers are like Leora’s daughter and don’t realize that you can be all that, except they are much older so it is more worrying. After all they are on the threshold of adulthood.

  3. You are 17 or even 18, please grow up.
    As I like to say to certain teenagers of my acquaintance, just because you’re a teenager doesn’t mean you have to act like one… 🙂

Leave a Reply

