After Work Thursday Musings – Updated

specs.jpg

– The new cooktop will only be fitted next Tuesday. I now need to find Shabbat recipes that can be done in the oven or the microwave. It’ll probably be a fish dish.

– So much for discipline; I started What I Talk About When I Talk About Running but find it very tedious. I have no time for boring books so I think I’ll switch to something else.

– A colleague lent me The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. Although people have mixed feelings about this book, I think I’ll give it a go.

– I can also read The New Book of Israeli Food by Janna Gur which I received this week. I will tick the recipes which inspire me and start once the cooktop is fixed. The photos are stunning and since I love cookbooks this should be fun.

– Last night, on the wonderful French Jewish website Akadem (a non-denominational digtal campus), I heard a fasinating lecture about the divide between secular and religious Jews in Israel. The lecture was given by Marius Schattner a Franco-Israeli journalist who wrote a book on the subject. A secular Jew himself, he started by explaining that he had undertaken this task after his daughter became ultra-Orthodox. The lecture was very nuanced and made me want to buy his book.

– I definitely needed new glasses. So I went to the optician last week, chose them, underwent a number of tests and will eventually get them tomorrow. They’re my first pair with progressive bifocal lenses so wish me luck.

12 thoughts on “After Work Thursday Musings – Updated

  1. Good luck with the new glasses.

    I didn’t care for the striped pajamas book – would be interested to read your reaction.

    I just ordered 3 books – if I write that I ordered them, will I then have to review them?

    Thanks for your musings. Always so readable!

    • I just ordered 3 books – if I write that I ordered them, will I then have to review them?
      That might be a good idea, especially if they are good.

      Thanks for your musings. Always so readable!
      Actually before posting, I thought the style was a bit simple but couldn’t be bothered to improve it after a day’s work.

  2. My daughter is reading The Boy in the Striped Pajamas for her English class, and I am reading it along with her. So far we have only completed Chapter 1, but I have already had to explain to her that the idea of a 9 year old inmate at Auschwitz is unrealistic, because the children were usually gassed to death upon arrival. I’m hoping that the rest of the book conforms a bit more to historical reality.
    (BTW, salmon cooks up nicely in the oven, alongside some roasted potatoes and vegetables.)

  3. Good luck with your glasses.

    I read and reviewed The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas.
    I will reserve my thoughts on it until you have read it, or voice your opinion.

  4. I can only imagine how I would feel if I had to institute a new process to get everything done for Erev Shabbat – eek!

    The lecture sounds really interesting. I have a friend who’s daughter is Orthodox, whereas she is not. It must be quite a challenge for them both.

    Shabbat Shalom – I wish you culinary success!

  5. I often make sole in the microwave. I marinate 4 fillets and put them in a utensil that I can lay them out in one layer (as much as possible). Cover with a plate or plastic wrap. After two minutes, rearrange the fish so the parts in the middle are on the edges. Then cook for another 1-2 minutes until the fish is opaque. The recipe I have calls for then putting the fish on another plate and keeping it warm (?) then cooking the marinade for another two minutes to reduce it and serve over the fish.

    Shabbat shalom!

Leave a Reply

