Virginia Woolf

virginiawoolf.jpg

Last week I visited an exhibition charting the works and influence of the Bloomsbury Group at the Museum of Art and Industry “La Piscine” in Roubaix. Here is one of the photos I took.

I had missed Mary’s prompt for red books but am still glad there is a relation between my photo and literature.

On Tuesdays, just post any photo you like (it must be one of your own) that contains the color RED and then link to this blog.

rubytuesday.jpg

This lovely new badge was created by Leora from Here in HP.

21 thoughts on “Virginia Woolf

  1. Totally perfect for Red Books – you just thought she said Red Literature! Virginia Woolf is one my favorite authors. I think I also identify with her illness and her mood swings that sadly ended in her death.

    The eyes in the sculpture are rather eerie. Her sister was a wonderful painter, though not quite as groundbreaking as Virginia.

  2. The walls in the gallery are a deep scarlet ruby. I didn’t have a book for this week, but nicely you kept the literary theme alive. The bod color on the musée wall is a nice change from the stark white walls in many museums…

  3. I wish she had been able to get the medications and therapy that we have today for mental illness as it is a heartbreaking story..Of course mental illness is still not accepted by some as an illness just like a physical illness. Before I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis, one doctor thought I was just stressed and tired..Once I have that diagnosis, now I get good medical care…This isn’t right…Michelle

    • Michelle, apparently it is the case in lots of places. One older student told me she had pain in her shoulder and her doctor said it was stress, until they discovered she needed an operation when she fainted.
      I am sorry to read that you have multiple sclerosis and sincerely hope you get the help you need.

Leave a Reply

