Review with Mystery Object

mysteryobject.jpg

On My Blog

Photo Memes:
Red Cafés for Ruby Tuesday
Juliet’s House for Window Views

To Vaccinate Or Not To Vaccinate

Flu Vaccine – Episode II

Weekly Recipe: Corn Salad With Asian Touch

Women and Tallit

Last year’s parshah post: Settling Disputes

Elsewhere in the JBlogosphere

Jew Wishes reviews Jacob’s Cane

Leora shares photos from Allaire State Park

My Judaism, Haddassah hosts a post by Lily

Understanding the Rape of Dina, a parsha post by Sara Hurwitz

Rabbi Noam Weinberg, a Jewish educator, has Thoughts on Holocaust Education

Can you identify the object in the photo above?

Shabbat Shalom!

18 thoughts on “Review with Mystery Object

  1. It looks like a tool for creating lines on a blackboard with chalk.

    Thanks for the link! Your tallit post this week was quite nice.

    I agree with Sara Hurwitz – the Dina story is not a love story. Will have to pay attention to the words she mentioned.

    Shabbat Shalom!

  2. I also think Leora is right, but my first reaction was that it’s a very strange looking chanukiyah! 🙂

    Do French schools still use chalk and blackboards? Here in Israel, all the classrooms have white boards and erasable markers instead.

    Shabbat Shalom!

    • This photo was actually taken in a museum in Sweden but we still use chalk and blackboards in most classrooms. However I prefer to use erasable markers as they are more pleasant for the skin and my writing is more legible.
      I have just been working with my students on a text which referred to France as being both “sophisticated and behind the times”, a very apt description.

  3. Is it for drawing straight lines on a blackboard, to allow students (or even the teacher) to write without sloping down or up?

    I love the fact that you still use chalk. I wish that were the case here. Some things really don’t need to be changed!

    Shabbat Shalom!

  4. This brings back memories. It must be for a music staff but I seem to remember teachers having them for three lines as well. Of course those were to teach us good penmanship, nice and straight, inside the lines, of course.

  5. Oh! I haven’t seen one of these for years! Though for the life of me, I can’t remember what music teacher where and when used to use it… And I’m not that old!

Leave a Reply

