Blogger’s Block?

palazzino.jpg

I have tried to write a few posts since Sunday evening but seem to be suffering from blogger’s block. I have tried to pinpoint the reasons for this lack of inspiration but am not sure what it is that makes it harder than usual to put fingers to keyboard.

– Fatigue: the kids at school are getting tired and thus more tiring. What’s more the days are getting shorter and I am beginning to miss the long and bright days.

– As much a I love my job, teaching is a job that cannot easily be left behind once at home. I tend to obsess over the preparations that need to be done and have difficulties relaxing and focusing on other more pleasant things.

– The succession of Chagim means that the blogging rhythm slackens.

– Two students and a former colleague (aged 50) have died since we got back to work in September and this is beginning to affect my morale. All the more so as I learnt last Friday that a recently retired colleague is terminally ill.

I still hope that I will be able to write and post a parshah post before Shabbat. To this effect I started Covenant & Conversation by Rabbi Jonathan Sacks last night. I have only read the introduction to the book of Bereshit but found it quite enlightning. I liked how Rabbi Sacks reminds us that apart from being a book about the beginning of the world it is also about how everything begins within one family.

“By placing the stories of Genesisbefore the bok of Exodus, with its story if the birth of the Israelites as a nation, The Torah is implicitely telling us of the primacy of the personal over the political.”

15 thoughts on “Blogger’s Block?

  1. Sounds like you have a full-blown case of the post-chagim blues! Here in Israel, it’s an extremely common condition right now.

    The good news is that Chanukah is IY”H only two months away… 🙂

  2. For someone who has blogger’s block, you have plenty to say!

    I can understand how loss can make one feel vulnerable and lousy. Scary to learn that someone is terminally ill (although I doubt there isn’t something somewhere that might be able to help them – there are so many ways to treat illnesses, but traditional Western medicine only presents a few).

    And it sounds like school is even more draining that in previous years. Best of luck, hang in there.

    • there are so many ways to treat illnesses, but traditional Western medicine only presents a few.
      The problem, for me, is that I find it difficult to know what to believe and choose in the vast amount of information we can find on the Internet.

      • Yes, the internet is indeed a difficult place to start. Much better if you have a guide with your specific ailment. Ask someone (on the internet or in person) who is a practitioner of some treatment how they would treat ‘x.’ Sometimes it might be something you would be willing to try.

  3. Since I started blogging in June, I have found that blogging is harder than it looks. And some of my posts are really forgettable and probably weren’t worth posting. I give credit to those of you who have been blogging for a long time.

  4. I am going through the same thing, but at least you have something to write in your I-don’t-know-what-to-write post. I think when you’ve blogged for a long time, it’s inevitable to go through periods like this. I know this is the second or third time this has happened to me. We’ll get our groove back…

  5. I’m with you! I have taken to posting photos of my life recently. This year has been quite consuming emotionally, and I don’t seem to find any creative urges coming upon me at all. I hope I haven’t lost it completely;~)
    I am sure there will be plenty to blog about once my husband starts his travels next week to Israel. We usually exchange humorous emails when we are travelling.
    Love to you dear.

  6. I am sorry to read of those deaths in your world. It’s awful when everything seems to happen at once.

    I agree with Leora that you should consult a medical professional before trying to find things on the Internet to help. I know that would overwhelm me!

    I’ve been posting many more photos than I used to. Sometimes it’s hard to write a post about oneself, not knowing if people will want to read it.

    take care and thanks for stopping by my humble blog.
    🙂

  7. For someone who has writer’s block, you have written a wonderful post!

    I know the feeling, though, and it soon shall pass.

Leave a Reply

