Thursday Musings

fountainverona.jpg

– After reading a review of Day After Night by Phyllis I have decided to order the book. I have also just realized that Jewwishes reviewed it too last month.

– I got an email about Buy Nothing Day (which is scheduled to occur on a Saturday) as some French teachers seem to think it is great to teach our students about this (and why not). Interestingly enough though nobody on their site seems to realize that Judaism invented a weekly version about three thousand years ago and that millions of us still observe it today.

– As the head of the English Department in my school (a task which is not paid in this country), I wonder how I can communicate efficiently with my younger colleagues. Indeed they are aware that I send them emails but don’t seem to actually read them. They then ask me what I wrote and what they are supposed to do about a particular situation – our language assitant’s schedule being the latest example.

– Our language assistant, Abigail, has just arrived. She is from Southern England but studies French and English at Leeds University. She seems keen and friendly which will be a great asset for our students. It will also be nice for us teachers to have her around. Last year our assitant never turned up and never even told us she didn’t want the post. I only found out when I found her phone number (thanks to the Internet) and got in touch directly.

– Abigail didn’t take A levels, like most of her British peers, but took the International Baccalaureate instead. In addition to being tested in 6 subjects (one of which has to be a foreign language), a candidate must fulfill three “core requirements: Extended Esssay (something like or Project Work), Theory of Knowledge and CAS (Creativity, Action and Service). As an educator I like the idea of a rounded education based on both formal and more flexible learning and teaching.

Is this the kind of education you would have liked to have or something you would like for your children? Are you happy with what you were taught or what your kids learn?

5 thoughts on “Thursday Musings

  1. I like your description of “Buy Nothing Day.” Reminds me of when I tell people we don’t use internet for a whole day (or more)…they often say, isn’t that great!

    >how I can communicate efficiently
    So they don’t like reading their emails, huh? You can ask them what would get them to read their emails. Maybe offer a giveaway if they prove they have read it (I’m kidding). Being a manager is never easy.

  2. i love the way you characterized buy-nothing day. it does seem ironic that it’s on a saturday:-)

    thanks for the link. i forgot that jew-wishes reviewed it too. she is amazing, isn’t she? so many books read….so many great reviews. i want to be her when i grow up….

Leave a Reply

