To Trust or Not To Trust?

statue-window.jpg

This morning I finished reading A Code of Jewish Ethics, Volume 2: Love Your Neighbor as Yourself by Rabbi Joseph Telushkin, which I had started two weeks ago. It took me some time to read this book, not because it is hard or boring – quite the opposite in fact – but because it is quite thought-provoking and challenged some aspects of my life and beliefs in a very powerful way.

I haven’t blogged about it yet, apart from announcing its release a few months ago but it has inspired my latest parshah posts.

After this, I felt I would need something light and had purchased Hold Tight by Harlan Coben. I picked it up as it dealt with a topic I have studied several times with my students, namely the dangers of Internet for teenagers.

I usually use extracts from Now You See Me by Rochelle Krich and thought another thriller would be a good addition to my lesson. Harlan’s novel is a bit far-fetched but one thing I find interesting here is that it questions parental responsibility as regards what kids do on the Internet.

To get a fair idea of Harlan Coben’s view on this issue you can read The Under Cover Parent, an article he wrote for the New York Times in march 2008.

If you have the time, read it and let me know what you think as a parent or an educator.

8 thoughts on “To Trust or Not To Trust?

  1. Well, only one of my kids was under 18 when we got Internet so I guess I might have missed most of the danger. Also, we have only one computer at home so I pretty much know what’s going on anyway. Coben’s book WAS scary and I can definitely see the point of using the spyware. But I would tell the kids that it’s installed and explain to them why it’s needed.

    • Having one computer for the whole family while the children are still children is something that is advised on websites that offer tips regarding kids’ safety on the Internet.

  2. Rabbi Telushkin’s work always brings me much to ponder. His writing is so illuminating.

    I like the photo. It’s lovely, with nice geometrics and tones.

Leave a Reply

