Brainstorming: Devarim

hydrangea0.jpg

We will soon start reading Devarim, the fifth book of the Torah. So I want to try and challenge myself to post about each of its eleven portions. I also plan to write a few things to introduce it before July 25th – the Shabbat when we’ll read the first parshah of Devarim.

However beforehand, I’d like to ask you a question: what does Devarim evoke for you? Feel free to write whatever comes to mind, or even to ask questions. I don’t promise to answer them but another blogger might.

12 thoughts on “Brainstorming: Devarim

  1. Love the pink flower next to the white.

    Things – things – perhaps things you really need to hear and are worth repeating? Lots of repetitions in Devarim.

  2. That pink flower really stands out between the white ones.

    My three “r”s for Devarim: reflecting, recounting, reminding.

  3. I picture the entire nation crowded around Moshe Rabbenu, as he shares his final words of wisdom with them, just before his death.

    I look forward to reading all your Devarim posts!

  4. In answer to your question – recalling, reminding, rebuking, promising…

    Your hydrangeas are beautiful – lovely juxtaposition of the single pink blossom against the white background!

  5. I always thought that Sefer Devarim is kind of sad. Moshe is about to die, and he is saying goodbye to the people to whom he has devoted the last 40 years of his life.

    • I think I’d say “solemn” rather than “sad” but I see what you mean. I was listening to a lecture on my mp3 player where the speaker mentioned that it must have been sad for Moshe to leave those people and to know he’d never see the land they were about to enter.

  6. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up « Ilana-Davita

  7. Pingback: Things, Things « Ilana-Davita

Leave a comment