Humbled by Limitations

boats.jpg

I have been blessed with a healthy constitution and have never ben really sick apart from the usual children’s diseases and apendicitis when I was 9. Therefore being stuck at home, mostly in bed, with strong orders about what I can, can’t, should and shouldn’t do is quite new to me.

– I am not allowed to go up and down stairs more than twice daily and, when I do, must do it very slowly. In a three-floored house this is proving a real challenge. So I have relocated to a room in the middle of the house to make things easier.

– I miss cooking. After 5 days of extremely bland so-called vegeatarian hospital food (this could be a post in its own right) I feel like preparing my own food and eating all the vegetables and fruit I was denied for a few days before the operation.

– I am supposed to feel exhausted and don’t! Not that I mind really, of course, but I have to remind myself that I am healing, that I need to rest and take things easy.

– It’s tough and takes time to change positions. Thus washing is a difficult and long task. However it makes me realize how lucky I am to enjoy a good health. I am glad all this is only for a short period of time.

3 thoughts on “Humbled by Limitations

  1. Does not sound pleasant, all the limitations. But it will help you heal properly, heeding all these rules.

    I understand why people buying homes in their 60’s are encouraged to buy flat houses. So your washing machine is on the same level as your kitchen and your bedroom.

    I’m glad you don’t feel exhausted. That sounds like a good sign.

    Take care.

  2. Does not sound pleasant, all the limitations.
    And I forgot to mention the lovely white T.E.D. stockings. 🙂
    I know it’s all for the best so I don’t really complain. It’s more a matter of adjusting to the restrictions.

  3. Pingback: Here in HP, a Highland Park, New Jersey blog » Week in Review with Azalea Blooms

Leave a Reply

