Nature Notes: Ethymology In My Garden

forsythia.jpg

primula.jpg

pulmonaria.jpg

With a little help from Wikipedia.

This week I had too little time to venture to the park or canal for real Nature photos, so I went back to my garden and spotted what had changed in two weeks.

The first photo shows a forsythia, named after William Forsyth (1737 – 1804) a Scottish botanist. He was a royal head gardener and a founding member of the Royal Horticultural Society. A genus of flowering plants, Forsythia, is named in his honor.

The second shot features primula. The word primula is the Latin feminine diminutive of primus, meaning first (prime), applied to flowers that are among the first to open in spring.

In the last picture one can see pulmonaria or lungworts. The scientific name Pulmonaria is derived from Latin pulmo (the lung). In the times of sympathetic magic, the spotted oval leaves of P. officinalis were thought to symbolize diseased, ulcerated lungs, and so were used to treat pulmonary infections. The common name in many languages also refers to lungs, as in English “lungwort” and German “Lungenkraut”.
Michelle of Rambling Woods started a new meme called “Nature Notes.” This is my firs contribution. Have a look at her blog for more “Nature Notes”.

nature-note1.jpg.jpeg

13 thoughts on “Nature Notes: Ethymology In My Garden

  1. This is a great Nature Notes post as I am eager to learn about plants and flowers. I found the information to be very interesting. You seem to have many more blooms that we do here in Western New York State (US)..Thank you for participating in Nature Notes…Michelle

  2. Nice. I particularly like the story on lungwort. I wish I had time participate today. As it is, I shouldn’t even be reading this post… back to life. See you tomorrow morning.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Review « Ilana-Davita

  4. Forsythia are such a harbinger of spring for me. In my home state of Oregon, I used to clip forsythia and daffodils from my parents’ garden all April and arrange them in a vase. The daffs had a gentle fragrance and their bright yellow (my favorite color) was so cheerful. Thanks for reminding me.

    We have a shrub in Israel with flowers of the same season, color, and size, but they’re not forsythia; they’re something else. Pretty, but not the same.

  5. I’ve noted that Americans that move to Israel seem to miss forsythia. Mine finally bloomed, and I took some photos.

    The primula are lovely, too. I haven’t seen those here in my area.

  6. Pingback: Here in HP, a Highland Park, New Jersey blog » Today’s Flowers: Forsythia

  7. I looked up “primula” and discovered it was a Latin name for primrose. I’ve seen primrose here, though not nearly as common as daffodils or forsythia.

  8. Aha! I found a true forsythia bush walking my daughter to her pre-Pesach camp! Beautiful. And that walk is so fragrant and lovely with clusters of wisteria, apple blossoms, and even calla lilies in someone’s garden. Okay, spring is really here now…

Leave a Reply

