Traditional Hamentashen

hamantaschen.jpg

3 eggs
1-cup oil
1-cup sugar
1-teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1-teaspoon baking powder
3 cups flour

In a large mixer, beat together the eggs, oil, sugar, vanilla and almond extract. Add baking powder and flour until you get a workable dough. If dough is too wet, add more flour.
Divide dough into quarters. Toll to ¼-inch thickness on a lightly floured surface. Cut into 3-inch rounds. Reroll scraps. Place the filling of your choice in center of each dough round. Fold three sides up to form a triangle, leaving some filling exposed in the center.
Place cookies 2 inches apart on greased cookie sheets. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Brush with egg wash if desired (see yeast dough recipe). Bake for 15 – 17 minutes or until crisp. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

This recipe is easy and quick. I found it a few years ago on the Aish website.

13 thoughts on “Traditional Hamentashen

  1. Mrs. S., we also do chocolate chips. Not because I like them, but because my boys like them that way. I kind of like it that way, because then I’m not tempted to eat them.

    If I filled them with plum lekvar, Ilana-Davita, I would eat ’em all up.

  2. I’m a cheater when it comes to hamantaschen. I do an old-school yellow cake mix recipe 🙂 It works!

    I prefer cherry pie filing for mine, but I might have to try the chocolate chips! Poppyseed are my favorite, but I don’t like to make them.

Leave a Reply

