Tempting

250px-Yerushalmi_Talmud.jpg

 

I moaned last week about being tired of teaching and of unenthusiastic students. I browsed the web and think I have found something I might like. Obviously I’ll need to improve my Hebrew before starting the course but the university offers this too.

It is the 3rd year of a university BA and is open to anyone who already has a BA in Hebrew, history or a foreign language. Here are the subjects taught as part of the curriculum.

Hebrew:
– classical Hebrew
– linguistics
– grammar
– modern Hebrew

Literature:
– classical Hebrew literature
– medieval Hebrew literature
– contemporary Hebrew literature

Modern Jewish Philosophy

Introduction to Mishna.

An optional subject – I am considering Yiddish.

What do you think?

12 thoughts on “Tempting

  1. The curriculum sounds fantastic! I especially like the Literature courses.

    I think Yiddish would be an excellent optional subject to take, and would round off your education.

  2. Sounds wonderful. I would like to study Yiddish at some point.

    Just remember studying in a university is different than studying with a rabbi. The professors have a different outlook, and some that are looking for a religious perspective can be disappointed. But my guess is the Hebrew classes are taught by Israelis? That’s how it works at Rutgers.

    I like the idea of your studying literature, because then you can recommend to us good short stories and poetry as you read them.

  3. It sounds terrific. There’s a nice variet of subjects. And if you have a basic background in Hebrew, Yiddish is not too hard to learn. (Knowing a bit of German helps too.)
    I think going back to school is a great way to break out of a rut.

  4. Leora and Raizy: I did some German at school so I reckon it will help. And I am aware of how different a teacher and a rabbi will be as I did something similar (but lighter) in Amiens a few years ago. However apparently some of the Paris lecturers are religious.
    MiI: In fact this is the whole schedule for one year. A great array of subjects as you can see.

  5. I’m jealous. This will be great for you (and also great blog fodder!)

    If you speak some German, Yiddish will be easier for you. I grew up with Yiddish and was able to communicate with my German-speaking grandmother because of it.

Leave a Reply

