My Vegetarian Biryani

399px-India_food.jpg

 

This is an esasy version of a famous Asian rice dish.

Slice one onion and fry it in olive oil in a wok. Add diced vegetables (one zucchini, one carrot and one potato) and fry for a few minutes. Lower the heat. Add I tbsp of curry paste and cover with a little water. Simmer for about 20 minutes or until tender. After 10 minutes add a hanful of frozen peas and cabbage florets.

Meanwhile steam some basmati rice. When the vegetables are ready, add some raisins and then the rice to the wok. Toss in chopped cilantro or parley as well as cashew nuts before serving.

Optional: You can add chopped hard boiled eggs just before serving.

12 thoughts on “My Vegetarian Biryani

  1. bahut acchaa! Looks divine! There’s a South Indian place near me that dishes up a marvelous veggie biryani (along with a lot of other marvelous dishes) and I’m a big fan.

  2. So it’s basically sauteed vegetables in curry paste, then sprinkled with cashews, parsley, raisins? I see something white in the photo, but then I see you got the photo from the wikipedia page. Interesting combination.

  3. Leora: I din’t take a photo of my dish that’s why I resorted to wikipedia but I suspect the biryani is the dish on the left since the others don’t seem to have rice.
    dys and Mojo: Thanks for your visits and comments.

  4. This looked so good I sent a link of this post to my mother who is always on the lookout for new, interesting ethnic recipes. Here is her email to me after she made it:
    “I had to write immediately to tell you how absolutely totally divine that vegetable biryani recipe is!!! I made the naan to go with it, and Dad and I agreed it was so fantastic it may be our new favorite. Boy, what a find, and thank you again.”

    Well done, Ilana-Davita! (Let me know if you want my mother’s recipe for naan, an Indian flatbread.)

  5. Shimshonit: First thanks a lot for the feedback. The recipes are here for to be shared so I’m glad your parents liked it.
    As for the nan recipe, I’d be delighted. I used to have one but have somehow lost it.

  6. NAAN
    Makes 6 naan (serves 2-3)

    2/3 C. warm water
    1 teaspoon yeast
    1 teaspoon white sugar
    2 C. flour
    1 teaspoon salt
    ¼ C. ghee (margarine)
    2 tablespoons parve sour cream (soy milk might also work)
    2 teaspoons kolonji (black mustard seed; can substitute garam masala)

    Whisk warm water with yeast and let stand in a warm place 10 minutes.
    Sift flour and salt into a large bowl; add yeast mixture, half the ghee, and all of the parve sour cream. Mix into a soft dough, then turn out and knead on a floured surface for about 5 minutes or until dough is smooth and elastic. Place dough in a large greased bowl and let stand in a warm place until dough is doubled in bulk. Punch down, turn out and knead again for a couple of minutes. Divide dough into six pieces. Roll out each piece to an 8″ round.
    Warm a large griddle to med-high heat. Brush griddle with a little of the remaining ghee and fry the naan pieces one by one, brushing more ghee on the griddle between. (Can also lift each piece with a spatula and brush more on the griddle before turning.) After turning, lightly sprinkle the kolonji or garam masala over naan. Cook about 2 min on each side, or until puffed and just brown. (Don’t overcook or they get hard and stiff.)

  7. Pingback: Naan « Ilana-Davita

  8. Pingback: Most Visited Posts of 2009 « Ilana-Davita

  9. Pingback: Kosher fo Passover – Vegetable Dishes « Ilana-Davita

Leave a Reply

